The Mallee Region

The electorate of Mallee is a significant rural electorate of 73,879 square kilometres stretching from the South Australian border in the west to Cohuna, Charlton and Stawell in the east, from Sunraysia and the Murray River in the north and the Wimmera, Grampians and Western District in the south.

The Federal “Division” of the Mallee includes nine municipalities; Horsham, Swan Hill and Mildura Rural Cities and the Northern Grampians, Gannawarra, Buloke, Hindmarsh, Yarriambiack and West Wimmera Shires.

First proclaimed in 1948/49, the Mallee Electorate is the largest geographical electorate in Victoria and the 12th largest in the country. The Mallee is noted for a variety of industries including tourism, service industries, small manufacturing, transport, education, biotechnology and research.

It is also a prime horticultural and agricultural region, producing dried fruits, citrus, stone fruit, almonds, olives, pistachio and other nuts, bee-keeping and pollination, wheat and other cereals, wool, sheep, vegetables, forestry, wine grapes, table grapes, dairying, meat works, sand mining and gold.

The Mallee electorate, which gets its name from a Eucalyptus tree, is home to over 100,000 people and covers a third of the state of Victoria. The people of the Wimmera Mallee, and Mildura regions are known for their resilience, friendly nature – and good looks!
© 2017 Andrew Broad MP
Telephone: 1300 131 620

Authorised by Andrew Broad MP, Federal Member for Mallee, 146 Eighth St, Mildura VIC 3500